Je(s)t Airways has a funny bone!

Some of you might have read this on one of my previous FB posts.

Jet Airways is an amazing airline.

BL21_P3_JET_787279fI recently added my wife and daughter to my Jet Airways FF household program. Yesterday, they called me for verification. Read on (with a spot of patience) to know more:

Jet rep: Sir, Good afternoon, I am calling from Jet privilege to verify your application for Family+ account.
Me: Good afternoon, sure!
JR: Sir, am I speaking to Mr Suhas Dutta?
Me:Yes, ma’am. You are.
JR: You have added your daughter, Miss Dutta to your Family+ account, and I need to verify her details.
Me: ok.
JR: Can you please tell me your daughter’s name?
Me: err, you just told me her name, and you have that on your records…
JR: No sir, this is a verification process.
Me: ok, her name is Dutta.
JR: Sir, what is her relationship to you?
Me: Pretty important
JR: No sir, I mean what is her relationship to you?
Me: Ah, got it. She is my daughter.
JR: Sir, what is her date of birth?
Me: I have already provided that.
JR: No sir, this is a verification call. Please tell me <daughter’s name=””> Dutta’s date of birth.
Me: ok, it is <blah>.
JR: Sir, please tell me the name of the person who introduced <daughter’s name> to family+

I am a slow learner, and I had not gotten the trick yet.

Me: Madam, you called me for verification and informed me that I had introduced my daughter to Family+. I don’t get this.
JP: No sir, this is a verification call, please tell me who introduced <daughter’s name=””> to Family+ for your JPaccount.
Me: I did.
JP: No sir, tell me the name.
Me: <my name>
JP: Thank you sir, I have confirmed the details and <daughter>’s account is now verified.
Me: Thank you so much, may I go now?
JP: No sir, I need to verify the introducer’s details.
Me: Yes, I introduced her, as you are aware.
JP: No sir, I need to verify the introducer’s details. Please tell me who introduced her.
Me: Ok, I did.
JP: No sir, please tell me the name.
Me: That would be <my name>, but didn’t you call me and ask me my name? Are you serious?
JP: Yes sir, I did. But, this is a verification call, no? What is your FF#, date of birth, and email address.
Me: Please look up my JP account, you will find all the details.
JP: No sir, you need to tell me.
Me: okay, they are as follows….<blah, and blah, and blah>
JP: Thank you sir, what is your phone number.

… ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I submit that I am but human.

Naresh Goyal - used to practically own the company (it is listed though) till he sold stake to Etihad

Naresh Goyal – used to practically own the company (it is listed though) till he sold stake to Etihad

Me: Madam, before I answer that, I have a question. Can you please tell me which number did you call to talk to me?
JP: err…umm…<looks it up, I reckon>…sir, I called <XXXXXXXXXX>
Me: Madam, can you please copy that number into your record?
JP: which number sir?
Me: The number that you just told me.
JP: Oh, okay sir. Now your verification process is complete and your account will be active in the next 48 hours. Have a good day sir.
Me: Thank you so much madam, very top of the day to you, and thanks for spreading cheer across the nation. Bye!

After this I was intent on connecting my head to the nearby wall, but Gocha ( Govindraj Kozhipurath ) was walking along with me and he quickly guided me towards a cup of coffee to avoid any damage to the stone wall.

Leave a Reply

